Degenerate Art at Spertus Institute




2:00pm (Central)


$18 General Public / $10 Spertus Members / $8 Students
More About This Series Buy tickets

Throughout history, art has maintained the power to threaten the social order. Delving into music that was censored, banned, and propagandized as “degenerate,” Fifth House Ensemble sheds new light on works by artists facing oppression under three different oppressive regimes: Nazi Germany, Soviet Russia, and the dark days of McCarthyism right here in the United States where individuals, ideas, and art were deemed un-American. Fifth House Ensemble collaborates with the American Civil Liberties Union, Holocaust Community Services, Spertus Institute, Artists at Risk, Unsilence, the Guild Literary Complex, the University of Chicago, and street art collective CMK to share and illuminate poignant historical and present day stories of artists from around the world. Join 5HE and representatives from each organization in a discussion panel on censorship, human rights, and freedom of expression after the performance.



Dmitri Shostakovich — Four Waltzes for flute, clarinet, piano
Erwin Schulhoff — 6 Esquisses de jazz (selections)
Harold Arlen, arr. Evan Snyder —  Somewhere Over the Rainbow
Ernst Toch — Quartet for oboe, clarinet, bassoon and viola, Op. 98
Gustav Mahler, arr. Cliff Colnot — Adagietto from Symphony No. 5
Olivier Messiaen  — Quatuor pour la fin du temps (selections)
Frederic Rzewski — Les Moutons de Panurge